Celebrating Excellence

For MHN, 2022 culminated in a return to a live event to recognize our Excellence Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award winners.

Editorial Director Suzann D. Silverman

Another year in the books. How is it already 2023? I’m pretty sure COVID has sped up time—last year seemed to fly by.

A big milestone for us in 2022 was our return to an in-person party to celebrate the winners of MHN’s Excellence Awards, which we hosted on Dec. 1 at Resource Furniture in New York City—always a fun venue, with lots of demonstrations of cool multi-functional and transformational furniture.

We were thrilled to name Tom Bozzuto this year’s recipient of our Lifetime Achievement Award, our editorial team’s annual recognition of the most meaningfully influential contributors to the multifamily industry. Only the third to receive the award, Bozzuto was an easy choice for us: His name is synonymous with industry reform and improvement, having dedicated his career to creating sanctuary, driven by civic responsibility and a belief that success comes from doing things the right way. He follows Doug Bibby and Ron Terwilliger—and the trio presents a challenge for us to match with 2023’s recipient!

The awards event was also a wonderful chance to honor and meet many of the 88 winners of our 16th annual Excellence Awards, which are determined by an independent panel of judges from around the industry. The 34 categories recognize properties, projects and professionals for accomplishments ranging from design and development to transactions, and from marketing to property and facilities management. New this year were awards for single-family rentals and for ESG.

Read Also: Check out our slideshow from the awards event!

We always gain insights listening to the judges as they evaluate the submissons, and it’s always an honor to announce the topmost Executive of the Year. (This year’s winner is described as “a structural engineer turned multifamily develop on a mission to provide great homes for hard-working Americans.) But even more rewarding is the opportunity to present awards like Facilities & Maintenance Manager of the Year, which recognizes those working on the ground to keep communities operating smoothly, and Rising Star, which brings to the forefront those relative unknowns who will surely be future industry leaders. And it’s heartening to see the enthusiastic support of their companies!

Submissions will be opening soon for the 2023 awards. While this year will certainly bring economically driven challenges and adjusted expectations, these will present opportunity for some. And those opportunities are likely to involve ingenuity and creativity that will make for some really interesting award candidates. Be sure to submit yours! Meanwhile, we’ll be profiling 2022 winners throughout the year.

Read the January digest,

You May Also Like